LACC BuildingThe Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) was established in 2008 by an Act of the National Legislature with a broad mandate and functions to implement appropriate measures and undertake programs geared toward investigating, prosecuting and preventing acts of corruption, including educating the public about the ills of corruption and the benefits of its eradication.

The LACC is composed of five (5) individual members known as Commissioners; one of whom serves as Executive Chairperson and one as Vice Chairperson. They are nominated and subsequently appointed by the President of Liberia after confirmation by the Liberian Senate.

The Executive Chairperson and Vice Chairperson are appointed for a term of five (5) years each, and are eligible for reappointment for one additional term of five (5) years. The other three are appointed on a staggered basis with one (1) Commissioner appointed for an initial term of four (4) years, while the other two (2) for three (3) and two (2) years each.

The LACC also comprises a Secretariat headed by an Executive Director who is hired by the Commission. The Secretariat is made up of three (3) Divisions: Administration, Enforcement & Prosecution, and Education & Prevention.

All powers of the Commission are vested in the five (5) Commissioners provided for in the Act establishing the Commission, all acting as a body. The Commissioners are responsible for the formulation of policies and the implementation of all activities of the Commission.

The Commission is situated at the corner of United Nations Drive and Gurley Street in Monrovia. Information about the LACC can be obtained on its website,